Planning Board

This board is appointed by the Town Board and the Wilkes County Board of Commissioners and is primarily responsible for recommending policies, conducting special studies, updating the Comprehensive Plan,  reviewing rezoning and text amendments as well as subdivision plats. There are currently eight members serving on the planning board; four in-town members and four ETJ members. This board is an advisory board to the Town Board of Commissioners with Zoning Ordinance amendments and policies conformance with the Town's Comprehensive Plan.  

The Town of North Wilkesboro is currently accepting applications for one in-town member and one ETJ member for the Planning Board.
Download the Application

Applications can be submitted to Meredith Detsch, Planning Director via email, mail, or dropped off at town hall.  

Email Meredith 
Mail Applications here: Town of North Wilkesboro, Attn: Meredith Detsch PO Box 218 North Wilkesboro, NC 28659
Drop off applications at Town Hall's walk-up window along Main Street- 832 Main Street, North Wilkesboro, NC
Questions?  Call 336-667-7129 ext 3011

  1. JPEG - 2048px for web use 5

    Meredith Detsch

    Planning Director

Planning Board Members:

In Town Members

  • Martha Nichols, Chair
  • Amy F. Cox
  • Vacant
  • Jeffrey Espin

ETJ Members

  • Danny Long, Vice-Chair
  • Vacant
  • Kenneth Turner
  • Jerrell Suddreth