Board of Adjustment

The Board of Adjustment is seeking two qualified candidates to fill two ETJ member positions.  The candidate shall live within the Town's ETJ.  Please contact the Planning Director Meredith Detsch to apply Email.  The County Board of Commissioners will be the governing body to appoint the position.  

Board Application

Board of Adjustment makeup:

The Board of Adjustment is appointed by the Town Board of Commissioners if the members are in-town residents and the Wilkes County Board of Commissioners appoints the ETJ members.  The Board of Adjustment is made up of three in-town members and three ETJ members.  Additionally, there are two alternates, one from the ETJ and one from in-town.  Member terms are three years.  The Board of Adjustment meets following the Planning Board meetings on the second Thursday of the month at approximately 6:00 pm.  

This appeal board is responsible for: a) Hearing variance cases, b) Issuing special use permits, and c) Appeal interpreting decisions from Planning and Inspections staff. The Board of Adjustment is composed of six members and two alternates that includes: three in-town regular members, three regular ETJ members, one in-town alternate and one ETJ alternate. This board is a "quasi-judicial" board whose decisions can only be appealed to the Superior Court of Wilkes County.

What's Quasi-Judicial?

A quasi-judicial hearing very similar to a court hearing.  All testimony must be sworn and in person before the board.  Comments called in and letters or written statements such as petitions cannot be entered into the record.  Having first hand testimony allows for cross examination of all witnesses by the Board and others in attendance.  Testimony offered on the case should be from direct personal or professional knowledge and focused on the ordinance specific considerations.   All decisions of the Board of Adjustment are subject to appeal to Superior Court within 30 days after the aggrieved party receives the Board’s written decision.  

Board of Adjustment Members:

In-Town Members

  • Lisa Casey, Chair
  • Freida Matthews, Vice-Chair
  • Monica Hawn

ETJ Members

  • Mike Staley
  • Vacant 
  • Vacant

Alternate Members

  • Martha Nichols (In-Town)
  • Danny Long (ETJ)

Rules of Procedures

October 2021

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
26 27 28 29 30 1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31 1 2 3 4 5 6
  1. Thu Nov. 11

  2. Thu Dec. 9

  3. Thu Jan. 13

View All